Area Control ™ © News
News out of the normal In The News
Login Welcome to Area Control ™ © News
Monday, August 21 2017 @ 12:48 PM CDT

6.9 magnitude earthquake offshore of Northern California

Location and Magnitude contributed by: Northern California Seismic System, UC Berkeley and USGS Menlo Park 

 6.9 Mw  (A strong quake)

View The Live Real-Time Earthquake map

As Of Current date and time is: Mar 10, 2014 13:54 UTC
No Tsunami Warnings, Advisories or Watches are in effect

 

Event Time
2014-03-10 05:18:13 UTC
2014-03-09 21:18:13 UTC-08:00 at epicenter
2014-03-10 00:18:13 UTC-05:00 system time

Location
40.829°N 125.134°W depth=16.6km (10.3mi)


Nearby Cities
77km (48mi) WNW of Ferndale, California
81km (50mi) W of Eureka, California
85km (53mi) WNW of Fortuna, California
87km (54mi) W of McKinleyville, California
398km (247mi) NW of Sacramento, California

 

MAINSHOCK
Magnitude : 6.9 Mw (A strong quake)
Time : 09 Mar 2014 10:18:13 PM, PDT
: 10 Mar 2014 05:18:13 UTC
Coordinates : 40 deg. 49.72 min. N, 125 deg. 8.03 min. W
: 40.8287 N, 125.1338 W
Depth : 10.3 miles ( 16.6 km)
Quality : Excellent
Location : 48 mi. ( 78 km) WNW of Ferndale, CA
: 50 mi. ( 81 km) W of Eureka, CA
Event ID : NC 72182046

STRONG AFTERSHOCKS (Magnitude 5 and larger) -
At this time (6 hours after the mainshock) the probability of a strong and possibly damaging aftershock IN THE NEXT 7 DAYS is greater than 90 PERCENT


EARTHQUAKES LARGER THAN THE MAINSHOCK -
Most likely, the recent mainshock will be the largest in the sequence. However, there is a small chance (APPROXIMATELY 5 TO 10 PERCENT) of an earthquake equal to or larger than this mainshock in the next 7 days.


WEAK AFTERSHOCKS (Magnitude 3 to 5) -
In addition, approximately 10 to 20 SMALL AFTERSHOCKS are expected in the same 7-DAY PERIOD and may be felt locally.

 

 

 

 

 

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: http://areacontrol.com/trackback.php/20140310090404892earthquake

No trackback comments for this entry.

0 comments

Navigation

Joe Leonard photographer

 
 
 
 
 

My Account






Lost your password?

What's New

Stories

No new stories

Comments last 2 days

No new comments

Trackbacks last 2 days

No new trackbacks

Links last 2 weeks

No new links

Auto Translations

  • Arabic
  • Bulgarian
  • Catalan
  • Chinese Simplified
  • Chinese Traditional
  • Croatian
  • Czech
  • Danish
  • Dutch
  • Filipino
  • Finnish
  • French
  • German
  • Greek
  • Hebrew
  • Hindi
  • Indonesian
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Latvian
  • Lithuanian
  • Norwegian
  • Polish
  • Portugese
  • Romanian
  • Russian
  • Serbian
  • Slovak
  • Slovenian
  • Spanish
  • Swedish
  • Ukrainian
  • Vietnamese

Relevant

Random Product

Executive Order 13526 Classified National Security Information

The President Executive Order 13526 Classified National Security Information Memorandum of

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events

Who's Online

Guest Users: 7